In 2006, the State of Missouri established eleven Regional Homeland Security Oversight Committees (RHSOCs) in the State for the purpose of developing regionally focused Homeland RHSOC LogoSecurity programs.  The Region B RHSOC includes the Counties of Adair, Chariton, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby and Sullivan.  The Mark Twain Regional COG serves as the Lead Regional Planning Commission for Region B RHSOC.  As a result, the Council serves as the fiscal agent and oversees the day to day operations of the Committee.

The Region B RHSOC is comprised of fifteen individual disciplines, each having a primary and alternate representative. The Committee’s primary goal is to make critical decisions on how to expend localized grant  funding and to insure that these decisions are made on a regional level, improve working relationships  among regional emergency managers, develop local leadership capabilities and expand the number of  disciplines that participate in the field of emergency management.  The Region B RHSOC meets quarterly.

Proactive efforts of the Region B RHSOC have directly benefited the citizens in the sixteen county region.  The Region B RHSOC has provided representation on a number of state committees, provided training for agricultural risk mitigation and funded updates to critical mapping data for 911 Centers.