The Mark Twain Regional Council of Governments is partnering with the Missouri Department of Natural Resources to form a Watershed Advisory Committee for the South Fork Salt River Watershed. The watershed includes parts of seven counties including Macon, Randolph, Shelby, Monroe, Audrain, Boone and Callaway counties. This watershed makes up 42% of the entire Salt River Basin.

The goal is to engage local residents and stakeholders in the identification of priorities and ideas for solutions to issues within this watershed. Ultimately, creating a healthy watershed strategy that will help guide local leadership and future planning for water quantity and quality in this area.

This effort is not about regulation, enacted or proposed. It is about sharing information with the goal of developing the understandings and relationships necessary for the creation of a Watershed Advisory Committee and Healthy Watershed Plan for the South Fork Salt River Watershed.

A watershed is an area of land defined by ridges, from which water flows into a particular water body. In this case, it is the Salt River.

In 2015-2016, Healthy Watershed Meetings were held for the North Fork Salt River Watershed and a Healthy Watershed Plan was completed in September 2016.

To ask a question or leave a comment, click here.

Thank you for taking the time to visit our website. Please look around, as much information is available here.  If you require more information please feel free to contact Dustin Wasson at the Mark Twain Regional Council of Governments at 573-565-2203 or Mary Culler at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources at 660-385-8000.

Next Meeting

Tuesday, March 28, 2017  |  12 Noon
Monroe County Farmers Mutual Insurance
125 W Monroe St, Paris, MO 65275

Please RSVP by Friday March 24th to:  Dustin Wasson at  or (573) 565-2203 or Mary Culler with MoDNR  at  or (660) 385-8090.

Meeting Notes & Documents

Meeting #1 Madison & Mexico Documents

Watershed Documents

South Fork Salt Watershed Summary (PDF)

South Fork Salt River Watershed Map (PDF)

Proportion of Watershed in each county – South Fork Salt

Total Watershed Acreage – 1,214 square miles

County Square Miles Percent of Watershed
Macon County 180 14.8%
Shelby County 6 0.5%
Randolph County 154 12.7%
Monroe County 388 32%
Audrain County 432 35.6%
Boone County 42 3.4%
Callaway County 12 1%